ACE Awards evening honours UNSW staff and students

27 Oct 2017

Australian College of Education Inner Sydney Region awards evening - Honours for UNSW staff and students

UNSW staff and students did well at the Australian College of Education Inner Sydney Region awards evening on Wednesday evening, 25 October. Maryam Shahid, who graduated with a Master of Teaching (Secondary) with Excellence in double science method at UNSW this year, won an outstanding graduate award. Maryam achieved the highest WAM/GPA of her cohort and from her very first professional experience in 2016, was praised by her supervisor for her “brilliant initiative “ and assessed as already exceeding many of the AITSL graduate standards. Her supervisor for her final placement commented that she had “all the attributes of a fantastic teacher” and was outperforming her cohort - great to see such recognition for our graduates!

Even more impressive, our Special Education team - Terry Cumming, Iva Strnadova, Sue O'Neill and Chris Grima-Farrell - were awarded the Dr Ralph Rawlinson Perpetual Award for a significant contribution to the education of students with disadvantage at local, national or international level. The award recognises their strong commitment to education and research that aims to enrich the lives of children, adolescents and adults with disabilities by providing evidence-based supports to help them succeed in inclusive environments at school, at home, and in the community. In addition to the MEd (Special Education) , all group members teach core courses in the School’s initial teacher education programs. Their teaching is informed by their research, which is focused in the areas of disability and: transition, working with families, classroom management, mobile technology, and evidence-based practice. The award is recognition of the highly collaborative approach of the group who have forged strong working connections with schools as well as professional organisations and government agencies over the last seven years. The work of Head of School, Prof Chris Davison was also acknowledged with an award and medal for her strategic leadership and internationally-recognised contributions to the education of disadvantaged students.