GERRIC Gifted Education STEAM Conference

When:15 Jun 2018, 9am - 6:30pm
Venue:Room 119, Level 1 John Goodsell Building
Who:The School of Education and GERRIC
unsw image


When: 15 Jun 2018, 9:00am - 6:30pm

Venue: Room 119, Level 1 John Goodsell Building

Who: The School of Education and GERRIC

To see the program schedule, click here. (PDF) [433 Kb]

For the booklet of abstracts, click here. (PDF) [222 Kb]

The School of Education and GERRIC at The University of New South Wales are delighted to host the GERRIC Gifted Education STEAM Conference, which will be the first ever gathering of Australian teachers and researchers in the area of gifted STEAM education (i.e., science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics education) at the Kensington campus of The University of New South Wales on Friday, 15 June 2018. Please join us to discuss your latest ideas about the education of gifted students in STEAM areas with others in the field. It is hoped that the event will provide a stimulus for the establishment of a community of gifted STEAM education teachers and researchers in Australia.

As international experts in gifted STEAM education will be attending from both Korea and Taiwan, multiple opportunities will be available for participants to gain an understanding of how gifted STEAM education is approached in these countries, exchange information about gifted STEAM programs in these countries, and discuss possibilities for collaboration.

There will also be a number of parallel sessions given by invited practising teachers and gifted education experts who will share their expertise, innovations, and experiences in teaching gifted students in STEAM areas across various educational contexts.

Presentations from the following:

  • Professor Michelle Simmons (2018 Australian of the Year, UNSW)
  • Dr Rebecca Johnson (Superstar of STEM, Australian Museum)
  • Professor Jiyoung Ryu and members of her team (Global Institute for Talented Education, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Professor Chinhsieh Lu (National Taipei University of Education)
  • Dr Lye Chan Long
  • Dr Rahmi Jackson
  • Aaron Macleod
  • Jonathon Mascorella
  • Viney Kumar
  • Karen Yager
  • Tony Doyle
  • Dr Susen Smith
  • Dr Peta Hay

Attendance at this free event, sponsored by the Australia-Korea Foundation of the Australian Federal Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT), will allow you to qualify for Professional Development hours with the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA).

Register here as soon as possible, as numbers are limited.

AUS Gov & AUS-Korea Foundation

View Past Events