ESL Teaching Units

ESL Teaching Units

Programming ESL in English 7-12 within a Quality Teaching Framework

Introduction to the English (ESL) units of work

The units of work on the following pages were developed by teachers from government and non-government schools in NSW who participated in a major professional development project conducted by ATESOL NSW in 2004-5, with funding from the Australian Government Quality Teacher Programme.

The project has been a significant development in the ATESOL NSW professional development program. It has enabled us to provide support for ongoing professional collaboration and mentoring, not just "one-off" professional development events. Experienced ESL teachers were paired with either English teachers or less experienced ESL teachers to develop the following new units of work during Term 1, 2005. Each unit exemplifies the use of ESL pedagogy and an explicit focus on language features in teaching to the NSW English Stage 4-5 and Stage 6 English syllabuses. Teachers may download and adapt the units to support ESL learners in their own classes. Any printed materials developed from these units is subject to the copyright provisions below and must give due acknowledgement to ATESOL NSW and to the teachers concerned.

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005

This work is copyright. It may be reproduced in whole or in part for study or training purposes, subject to the inclusion of an acknowledgment of the source and no commercial usage or sale. Reproduction for the purposes other than those indicated above requires the written permission of the Department of Education, Science and Training. Requests and enquiries concerning reproduction and copyright should be addressed to the Director, Quality Teaching Section, Schools Group, Department of Education, Science and Training, GPO Box 9880, Canberra, ACT 2601.


The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the views of the Australian Government Department of Education, Science and Training.


This project was funded by the Australian Government Department of Education, Science and Training as a quality teacher initiative under the Australian Government Quality Teacher Programme.

Stage 4 Fantasy unit

Stage 4 Fiction unit: 'Into the night and other dark places'

Stage 4 Novel unit - Holes

Stage 5 Media unit - The Interview

Stage 5 Short Story Unit

Stage 6 Area of Study unit - Transitions

Stage 6 Module A unit - Dialogue

Stage 6 Module A Unit - Telling Stories